Recipe: Charis’ Chocolate Chip Cookies

October 1, 2011 § 4 Comments

What’s the perfect way to spend a Saturday morning?

In bed. Preferably with a book and a glass of milk and a pile of chocolate chip cookies. I love the hint of extra saltiness in these cookies, which mixes fabulously with the rich butter and the sweet chocolate (and by the way, while I made this batch with ordinary milk chocolate chips, this recipe is particularly good with dark chocolate! Just make sure you have that glass of milk handy).This recipe is an adaptation of many different recipes–it morphs a little each time I make cookies, because I’m always fiddling, but it’s starting to settle into shape!

And it’s always delicious.

Charis’ Chocolate Chip Cookies

3 1/3 cups flour

1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 1/2 teaspoons coarse salt

2 1/2 sticks (1 1/4 cups) unsalted butter

1 1/4 cups (10 ounces) light brown sugar

1 cup plus 2 tablespoons (8 ounces) granulated sugar

2 large eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 1/4 pounds chocolate chips (or three to four large handfuls, or to taste)

Sift flours, baking soda, baking powder and salt into a bowl and set aside.

Using a mixer with a paddle attachment, cream butter and sugars until light and fluffy – about 5 minutes.

Add eggs. Stir in vanilla.

Reduce to low speed and add dry ingredients slowly, mixing until just combined. Fold in chocolate chips.

Refrigerate dough for 24-36 hours.

When ready to bake, preheat oven to 350.

Drop spoonfuls of dough onto baking sheet. Sprinkle lightly with coarse salt, if desired.

Bake for 10-12 minutes, then slide parchment paper off of cookie sheet and onto a wire rack to cool.

I scoop my cookies out with a tablespoon (which makes huge, delectable cookie), and put six on a cookie sheet covered with parchment paper. Since it’s just six cookies per sheet it takes a little while to get through the entire batch of dough, so I roll out balls of dough and put them back in the refrigerator.  I also rotate two cookie sheets, letting one cool while the other is in the oven. When one batch of cookie is a couple of minutes away from coming out, I pull the balls of dough out of the fridge and drop six on the waiting cookie sheet, ready to be swapped out.

I call it the Dance of the Cookies.

If your cookies spread out too much and get very thin, try cutting back on the amount of baking soda in the recipe (this is the part of the recipe that I fiddle with the most!)

Enjoy!

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to Recipe: Charis’ Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • I am very curious as to how you suspended a cookie in a glass of milk….is the glass holding the cookie up due to its circumference? THESE ARE THINGS I NEED TO KNOW.

    Also this gave me a massive cookie craving and now my husband and mom are complaining that I am making them fat. I blame you. ;D

    • The cookie is totally wedged in the cup. It is a super-big cookie!

      Except that’s a lie. The truth is that I used magic and my huge brain.

      The best way to stop the whining is to shove a cookie in their mouth as soon as they open it! Or you could just say ‘you’re right, I’m sorry, I will eat your share of the cookies’, and take one for the team! THE TEAM OF COOKIES.

  • Sharon says:

    What I want to know is… how do you get your cookies so perfectly round without a cookie cutter??? Whenever I do drop cookies w/ a tablespoon, they always come out looking funny….

    • I roll them! I scoop them out with the tablespoon, then I roll them into balls in between my palms and put the balls on the cookie sheet (leaving plenty of room in between, because they spread out a LOT). As long as you start with rounded balls of dough, they melt down into perfectly round cookies!

      …this is also a lie, of course, because I make them round using magic, but dough balls would probably also work😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Recipe: Charis’ Chocolate Chip Cookies at .

meta

