Crafts for Charity: Japan

March 31, 2011 § 2 Comments

Well, my craft for Suzy is now on its way to Australia, but before I move on to my next craft victim I want to share my new project with you!

For the last week I’ve been making piles of felt and paper roses and wielding a hot glue gun like a maniac. Why?

This headband has been claimed by Melody

Because of Japan.

As I’m sure you all know, on March 11 Japan was hit by a devastating earthquake and tsunami.  I don’t need to tell you how extensive the damage is, or how staggering the number of people left homeless, jobless, left with nothing.

Rewind a few years.  A decade or so, in fact.  I’m fourteen, and outside of the United States for the first time, living on a US air base in Fussa, Japan.  We were there for three years, and it was easily one of the richest, most incredible moments in my life.  Sometimes I’m still struck with pangs of ‘homesickness’ for the life that I knew there.

Even a decade later, my heart is still full of Japan.  The news coverage of the disaster, the image of the wave that played over and over, was too painful for me too watch, and I had to get my news from the radio instead.  I’m profoundly grateful that our friends and church family in Japan are all safe and well, but the need for aid is still great, so I’ve set up an Etsy shop and all proceeds will go to aid disaster relief in Japan.

Click this banner to go to my Etsy shop!

 

What will you find there?

 

Grey Roses Headband, $15

A is for Adorable Dictionary Headband, $20

I have a lot more items to add over the next few days, so keep checking back! Tell your friends!

 

§ 2 Responses to Crafts for Charity: Japan

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Crafts for Charity: Japan at .

meta

