Craft Challenge: February–This is for Jo!

March 1, 2011 § 2 Comments

Happy February, Jo!

I spent most of February making Jo a Skeleton Key beret–it took all month because I may have started over more than once.  Ahem.  First I repeated a section of the chart and had to rip out an entire inch, then I realized that Something Was Wrong with a section of cables and it just didn’t look right, so I tinked back each cabled section (that’s six sections, by the way), re-did the cables, then carried my stitches back up.

Which sounds like an adult in a Charlie Brown cartoon to everyone who isn’t familiar with this fancy knitting slang, so allow me to sum up: I have wicked awesome skills. Fear me.

I picked this hat for Jo because of the beautiful cables, which are evocative of (wait for it) skeleton keys of the ancient and ornate variety:

However, despite the fact that the hat took me ages, it sort of felt insufficient for Jo’s Craft–in case you didn’t know this with me, my philosophy seems to be ‘if it’s worth doing, it’s worth over-doing’.  I decided that there was not enough awesome.

There can never be too much awesome.

The only problem was that February was almost over, and I didn’t have much time left to make additional things.  All of my ideas were much too complicated, until I hit upon the perfect thing–I would make a tentacle lady! inspired by this!

Except I decided that I wanted my lady to have something better than a slit up her skirt. I wanted it to actually swivel open on little brads! And her arm should move as well!  …was I supposed to be keeping things simple because of time constraints?  No, surely not. That is way out of character for me.

I based my lady on a vintage illustration, which I traced and colored, altering it as I needed to allow the movement I planned.

And speaking of movement:

Happy February, Jo!

When the Old Ones return, you will probably be spared.

 

Tagged:

§ 2 Responses to Craft Challenge: February–This is for Jo!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Craft Challenge: February–This is for Jo! at .

meta

