Valentine’s Day!

February 13, 2011 § 1 Comment

Tomorrow is Valentine’s Day!

…yeah, I don’t really get excited about Valentine’s Day. When I was growing up I did get excited about Chocolate Eclair Day, which also happened to be on February 14th, and everyone knows that the real holiday is Discount Chocolate Day on February 15th, but Valentine’s Day itself has always struck me as a little pointless.

Still, I love a theme, and a couple of weeks ago when I volunteered to bring dessert to Bible study I must have had hearts on the brain because this was what I made:


Red Velvet Cake Mix Cookie Sandwiches, Chocolate Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Icing and Chocolate Hearts, and one excited and soon to be excessively sugared girl.

Ladies and gentlemen, I am here to tell you that cake mix cookies are not only the easiest thing in the world, they are delicious and decadent–one cookie sandwich was enough to knock me over, anyway.  I had to sit quietly and recover from the sugar rush.

But when I say that it’s the easiest thing in the world, I really mean it–if you need a last minute Valentine’s Day treat, look no further!

For the cookies themselves, you just need

1 box of cake mix

2 eggs

1/2 cup of oil

AND THAT’S IT. You just mix up those three things, scoop out balls of the resulting dough onto a cookie sheet, and bake at 350F for about 8 minutes, until the top of the cookie cracks slightly.  I scooped my cookies out with a tablespoon, but they were very large–next time I’ll use a teaspoon instead.

The icing is also simple:

8 oz cream cheese

6 oz white chocolate

1 stick butter

Beat cream cheese until fluffy, add in melted chocolate (I chopped up my chocolate and melted it in the microwave, stopping every thirty seconds to stir until it was smooth) and softened butter, then mix until light and airy.

Once your cookies have cooled simply match them in pairs, spread with icing, and sandwich together.  Easy as pie.  Except EASIER than pie, because pie can actually be a lot of trouble.

If you want to be ambitious and keep things really tidy, then you can also use a piping bag to fill your cookies:

It’s not really necessary, but it was quick and easy, since I had the piping bag ready to ice my cupcakes anyway–I used the same icing for both red velvet cookie sandwiches and chocolate cupcakes, and it was delicious on both.  The cupcakes, by the way, were Cupcake 22 from Ming Makes Cupcakes, one of my favorite go-to cupcake recipes (Cupcake 1 and Cupcake 24 are also very popular in my house).  To dress up my cupcakes I just melted a handful of red candy coating in a disposable piping bag by microwaving it, stopping every thirty seconds to squish the bag until the candy coating was smooth and runny, then snipped the tip off of the bag and piped hearts out onto wax paper.  Easy peasy, and it made for a pretty presentation–

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Valentine’s Day! at .

meta

