Craft Challenge: January – This is for Sharon!

February 7, 2011 § 2 Comments

I’m really pleased with my craft for my January victim–and in case you missed it, the fabulous Sharon answered a few questions about herself in this post! You can also learn more about Sharon and her wedding journey–pre- and post-wedding–at her blog, Bride Sans Tulle.

But what did she make for Sharon? I hear you wondering. Wonder no more! It is time for the Big Reveal!

….yeah, ignore my weird squinting-in-the-sun face. Don’t even look at that part of the picture. It’s not important.

Instead, look at this!

I love traditional silhouette portraits–I think that they’re beautiful, classic, and elegant (all words that also apply to Sharon), and I’ve been wanting to make one for a while. Originally I thought about doing two separate silhouettes as a pair, and starting looking through Sharon’s wedding pictures for profile shots, which is where I found the perfect shot of Sharon and Jason in profile together:

Sharon’s beautiful wedding pictures, by the way, are by (once a spark) photography

It was too gorgeous and adorable. How could I resist?

In the original picture, Sharon and Jason’s noses overlap, and I considered separating them a little so that they would be two independent silhouettes. Then I changed my mind, because I am sentimental and I liked the symbolism of their wedding portrait being cut from a single piece of paper.

The hardest part of this project was actually finding an oval frame large enough for my 9 1/5″ by 10 1/2″ silhouette–I finally found this 11X14 frame at Michael’s. Here is my pro-tip for you: If you plan to frame a project, keep standard framing sizes in mind as you work on it! And if possible, buy the frame first.

And if you are bound and determined to find an oval frame (as I was–I was going to be heartbroken if I had to settle for a rectangle! I think silhouettes are at their best in oval frames), I am here to tell you that your best bet is Michael’s.  They were the only oval frames that I found, so thank goodness they were perfect!

…I was also paranoid that the frame would break in between Texas and California, so I wedged it into its box with as much padding as I could fit. Let’s just say that a bunch of tissue paper, an entire roll of bubble wrap, and some packing popcorn was involved, as well as enough tape to subdue a legion of five year olds.

Not that I would use tape to control a five year old. Of course not.

That would be unethical.

And a waste of tape.

Moving on….

Sharon and I met online through our love of books (and the influence of a certain person named Sophia), and spent years exchanging emails and letters. We met in person for the very first time almost a year ago, in February 2010, and during the visit Angela and I got to go wedding dress shopping with Sharon.  We got to see her try one what would be ‘the dress’.

Meeting Sharon in person for the first time, February 2010

We met in person for the second time when I had the privilege and the blessing of going to her wedding in August–one of The Best Weddings Ever (and not only did we go to the wedding, we got to be there for an entire weekend of celebration leading up to the wedding, and join the big, loving community of people surrounding Sharon and Jason. One of the Best Weekends Ever).

Angela & Charis at Sharon's wedding! August 2010 (Kay is hiding on the other side of Sharon)

I suppose it isn’t a big surprise that my inspiration for Sharon’s craft came from her wedding.

However, Sharon happened to mention that she doesn’t look good in hats.

Hm, I thought.

That sounds like a challenge.

So I also sent her a hat:

Sharon's hat, modeled by me. At 3am, right after I finished it so that I could put it into the box and mail that sucker.

The pattern is the ‘Proposal Beret‘ by Belle Dee Designs

Happy January, Sharon!

love, Charis

 

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to Craft Challenge: January – This is for Sharon!

  • Chesna says:

    Ok, I am really impressed with how talented you are! You make such beautiful things!
    That being said, the follow quote was brilliant, inspired and awesome.
    “Not that I would use tape to control a five year old. Of course not.

    That would be unethical.

    And a waste of tape.”

    Thank you for that!

  • Sharon says:

    Gah, the Awesome Thing is so awesome! Seriously, I am struck with awe by your creative talents and feel so loved every time I look at.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Craft Challenge: January – This is for Sharon! at .

meta

