A Parliament of Owls

February 4, 2011 § 6 Comments

If you knit or crochet, or do any other fiber related crafts, then you’re probably on Ravelry (and if you aren’t, then you should be! You’re missing out on a fantastic resource and community).  I spend most of my Ravelry time on the forum of the Folklore & Fairy Tales group, and every season we have a swap.  This winter’s swap was ‘Straw into Gold’, a theme that was all about creativity–we weren’t supposed to buy anything for our swap partners, and instead we were supposed to put together a package using things we already had (yarn from our stash, things that we’d made or happened to have, etc.)

My swap partner loves owls so much that they’re part of her screenname, so I made a couple of owl crafts for her:

First I made fingerless mitts, because everyone always needs fingerless mitts! I managed to improvise this pair, without following a pattern (so of course they aren’t perfectly symmetrical), with cabled owls that have been featured in several different patterns that I’ve seen–I don’t know where it originated, but you can see other patterns using it here and here, and in my favorite here (scroll down to find the pattern ‘owls’).

Do you see the owls?

They’re knit from a soft and cuddly angora/bamboo blend, with shirt buttons for eyes.

But you can never have too many owl friends, so I made a little owl out of wool felt as well:

He stitched up by hand really quickly–perhaps an hour or so.  I think that this style of soft owl originated in a Japanese craft book, but I was inspired by this tutorial.  If you follow that link you’ll find a template to download, but the owl is such a simple shape that I cut mine out freehand (…so of course he isn’t symmetrical either!).  It’s just a teardrop shape with the point folded down, and voila!   I used pinking sheers to cut out the red piece and the yellow circles that I added around his button eyes, and for a little detail I embroidered his chest.  I’m so pleased with how he turned out–I think he’s darling!

And he would, by the way, make an excellent pincushion.

Tagged: , ,

§ 6 Responses to A Parliament of Owls

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Parliament of Owls at .

meta

