Happy Birthday, Professor Tolkien

January 3, 2011 § 5 Comments

I spent most of my childhood in countries that don’t exist–Narnia, Oz, Prydain, Never-Never Land, Wonderland–but it all began with Middle Earth.  The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings are in my earliest memories. January 3rd is J.R.R. Tolkien’s birthday, so to celebrate I made cupcakes.  Hobbit hole cupcakes!

If I could choose to live in a fictional place, the Shire would be high on my list–I would make an excellent hobbit.  Since I can’t move into Bag End right away (unfortunately) these will have to do for now.

I made chocolate cupcakes and froze them, so that they’d be easier to cut, and then trimmed off one side to make a flat surface–

The hobbit doors are made from candy melts–the door knobs and hinges are yellow candy melts, put into a disposable piping bag and microwaved in thirty second increments and then piped on–

I covered the cupcakes with green fondant, then used more melted candy coating to stick the doors onto the flat side of the cupcake.  I melted some more green candy coating and piped it onto the sides of the cupcakes for grass, and added flower sprinkles–

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Happy Birthday, Professor Tolkien

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Happy Birthday, Professor Tolkien at .

meta

