In which I request volunteers from the audience

December 2, 2010 § 20 Comments

Now that Thanksgiving is over, Christmas is officially permitted to begin!  Are you excited?  I’m excited!

But while I’m excited about Christmas, I’m already thinking about next year, and I need a few volunteers from the audience.

Here’s the thing: I like to do crafts.  I like to make crafts for people.  I love making crafts for swap partners or gifts because I feel free to try out new things and stretch the creative muscles a bit, so I’ve decided that in 2011 I want to make 11 crafts for 11 people (that’s where you come in).  Interested?

Here’s how it will work:

1) Comment on this entry! The first eleven people to comment will get a slot on Charis’ Year (Almost) of Crafts Calender (feel free to recommend a better name for this project when you comment). Be sure to leave an email address where I can contact you, and mention any dietary restrictions or fiber allergies!

EDIT: All the slots are filled! Thanks for participating, everyone!❤

2) Each person will be assigned a month (if you’d like a certain month–your birthday month, for instance–let me know, otherwise the months will be assigned at random)

3) During your month I will make you something, and send it to you.

4) I won’t tell you what I’m making for you.  And I won’t promise that you will like it. But I will promise that it will be something created by me just for you, and that it will be in the mail to you by the end of the month (I make no promises about when it will arrive).

Some Notes:  Feel free to mention likes and dislikes in your comment–‘I love Doctor Who stuff’, ‘I hate the color green’, ‘I collect things with rabbits on them’, etc., or just list some random facts about yourself (favorite books, activities, personality quirks, etc.).  I’ll interpret your comments however I feel like interpreting them but I will take your preferences into account because I am making something Just For You.

There is no telling what that something might be.  I may knit you something, or paint you something, or bake you something, or I might write you a story or make a video.  I reserve the right to make something strange and/or completely useless, but whatever it is, it will be creative.  Once you receive it the whatever-it-is will be featured on the blog.  Hurray!

Edit to mention: If you’re outside of the US don’t let that stop you from signing up!  I will still mail crafts internationally!

And because a blog post without pictures is just a bunch of words, here are the arrangements that I did for our Thanksgiving tables this year:

Featuring green and orange flowers, mini pie pumpkins, brown craft paper, orange raffia, the Parfait Glass Trio, with the Trifle Bowl as the headliner.  Special guest appearances by the elbows and coffee mugs of my relatives!

Tagged: , ,

§ 20 Responses to In which I request volunteers from the audience

  • Sharon says:

    Pick me! Pick me!

    I think you know my likes and dislikes pretty well, so I’ll just say that I’ve never looked good in hats.😦

  • Jo says:

    omg me me me me me.😀 I’m pretty sure you know me well enough to think of something awesome (also your brain is good with awesome) that suits me. Uh. My favourite colours are deep, rich colours; I infinitely prefer ivory and cream to white; I love watercolours a lot; folklore is my backbone; semi-colons are my favourite punctuation; uhhh… I’m allergic to, um, crocodiles?

    Also PUMPKINS. HI WEE PUMPKINS DON’T YOU LOOK SMART. The raffia bows are particularly captivating as well.

  • Suzannah says:

    Me? In exchange I’ll write you a poem upon whatever it is I get.

  • Nia says:

    YAY I MADE IT IN TIME! I waaaants something😀
    Can we do April? That’d be sweet.
    My tastes are ever changing as far as colors and such. I like a lot of similar things as you do, notable exceptions are that I have not yet seen any Dr. Who or Supernatural, though they are both on my list of things to watch.

  • Melody says:

    I am restraining myself from capslock and exclamation points with great difficulty. Pick me! You already know all of my allergies and preferences and collections and quirks and my e-mail.

    P.S. The flower arrangements were awesome.

  • Kate says:

    Oh, oh, I want a bit of craftiness! I think you know the sort of things I like (sci-fi and steampunk, especially).

  • Chesna says:

    Me! Oh oh please pick me!
    I amd currently wrapped up in The Wheel of Time series (still), The House of Night series, and Tozer’s Pursuit of God. I don’t like yellow, and I’m not allergic to anything you can get your hands on (legally).

  • Kyra says:

    WHOO MADE IT. YES MAKE ME SOMETHING, YOU ARE AWESOME. (What would be totally awesome: anything with vampires, or a Toothless plushie–although the instructions I’ve seen for really good ones put the price of all materials and labor at like $100 so, you know, no pressure there–or an Alot, or like…some fanart for anything I’ve written? Especially original fiction? Except I don’t have all that much posted, so whatever.

  • Sophia says:

    Oooh, me too! Me too! I am not so good with warm colors on my body (they have to be really nitpicky to look good), but other than that…you know what I like? Although I guess the one thing I will say is that calligraphy is favorite. I like things with words. 🙂

  • Sarah says:

    Ooh, pick me pick me!😀 Hmm. Things I like – Doctor Who, steampunk, Patrick Wolf, and the color blue.

  • Jenn says:

    ME! You know you want too!

    I would like June.

    Everything else you can kind of guess.😛

  • […] doing a personal monthly craft challenge in 2011, and these are my lovely […]

  • Kevin Kolomichuk says:

    pick me pick me! i am number 12! do i count?? lol

  • Risa Ellison says:

    I must have a month!! You know everything I like and I let you use my stuff and I have taught you a thing or two, to get you started.

  • Amber says:

    Curses! I took time away from my feeds and missed this most awesome of giveaways. Can I submit an entry for Jensen in 2012?

  • […] may remember that a little while ago I requested some volunteers from the audience for a project that will (I hope) motivate me to keep actively crafting and creating throughout the […]

  • Kay says:

    Oh, the sadness that I have missed the cutoff.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading In which I request volunteers from the audience at .

meta

